Introducing: La Roux

larouxI LOVE YOU UK. I had to get it out of my system. I swear to god, had it not been for the UK’s music scene, pop would be blatantly boring today (with the exception of my dear Gaga). I will not list the many great pop artists the UK’s spawned, but instead I will talk about this new flaming, fiery, blazing, red-hot of an artist named La Roux (pronounced La Roo), to be more accurate La Roux is a band consisting of singer Elly Jackson, and behind-the-scenes co-writer-producer Ben Langmaid, but I’ll refer to Elly as La Roux, because I initially thought La Roux is her stage name.. ok I babbled a bit too much. I first head La Roux’s Quicksand EP which to me at that time, was average, very average, and it wasn’t until her hit single “In For The Kill” reached #2 on UK’s chart that I downloaded and listened more carefully to the song, which is obviously a hit! I was still not a big fan, but along came “Bulletproof“. Now, then, that song is the definitive moment in her career, it was an instant favorite from day 1. It’s beyond catchy, words can’t express how catchy the chorus is, hence the song’s STRAIGHT shot (debuting) atop the UK’s chart, #1! To me, UK’s chart is pop bible, because the sweet people of the lovely land of the United Kingdom have something most Americans lack (not all), taste. I am now listening her debut self-titled album, which is great (first listen!). It’s very cohesive, very charming, and above all, alarmingly hot. La Roux 1, Little Boots 0. Don’t judge me, I love competition/comparison. I uploaded two of the songs I loved upon hearing the album for the first time. They’re instants, trust.

La Roux:
Cover My Eyes
Tigerlily

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

