YouTube: Lessa Fakir – Asalah


For all foreigners, who never heard of the name Umm Kulthum, she is the biggest icon the middle ease has ever seen. She’s egyptian, known for her jaw-dropping contralto range. In a nutshell; Big big vocals for long long hours. Visit her Wiki page to read more about her, there are some really interesting facts. Now back to the present, Asalah (featured more than once in here) is the middle east best vocalist (nowadays), she once said in an interview “People could criticize me about my looks, height, weight, but they can’t say a word about my voice. Whoever dislikes my voice should get his/her ear checked!” and I gotta say, I loved her more since. Anyways, back to the video, in here Asalah sings Umm Kulthum’s song a capella and adds her own style to it, I think she did a wonderful job. Sometimes I wonder, what would happen if she lived in Umm Kulthum’s generation..

5 thoughts on “YouTube: Lessa Fakir – Asalah

    • Thank you, glad you liked it.

      You car type in Asalah in the search bar and check some of her original material, it won’t disappoint, i’m 100% sure.

  1. “People could criticize me about my looks, height, weight, but they can’t say a word about my voice. Whoever dislikes my voice should get his/her ear checked!”
    I totally agree with her + they can’t criticize her look too ;D

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

