List: Oldies

oldHere’s a compiled list of my favorite old classics, enjoy the olden golden day flashback.

bessieAfter You’re Gone – Bessie Smith [Download]
Of all the pioneer female singers, Bessie’s my favorite, something about her voice, and style of singing just compels me to concentrate while listening to her, I stopped playing her song while typing this because it was too distracting.

ettaSomething’s Got A Hold On Me – Etta James [Download]
There many other better Etta songs to post, but I chose this one specifically for that reason, it’s not as known as her other songs, but it’s as good. Take a listen!

elvisHard Headed Woman – Elvis Presley [Download]
My favorite Elvis song.

dionneAnyone Who Had A Heart – Dionne Warwick [Download]
This wouldn’t sound out of place on a Quentin Tarantino soundtrack, it’s a classic!

billieAs Time Goes By – Billie Holiday [Download]
You must remember this, a kiss is still a kiss, a sigh is just a sigh, the fundamental things apply, as time goes by“. There has been many renditions of this song, but my favorite has got to be Lady Day’s.

arethaDr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business) – Aretha Franklin [Download]
Who doesn’t love this? The last breakdown (2:05) floored me when I first heard it.

4 thoughts on “List: Oldies

  1. Although there isn’t that much ‘old’ music I like & I didn’t keep any of the songs, I find it just amazing how those ladies sound and what power is behind their voices. I really appreciate this list, maybe you could make a second part someday. Maybe I’ll find something then. 🙂

  2. G: Thanks 😉

    Jenny: Yes women back then were powerhorses vocally. I wish someone from this age would go up and do a record similar to the ones before. Even with the much-used “retro” sound these days, it’s not as magical as it used to be, the closest to being “magical” was Christina’s I Got Trouble.

    Hopefully you’ll find something more fitting that suits your taste in vol.2 😉

  3. Exactly, I Got Trouble was the first song that came to my aswell. But it’s basically the microphone (and maybe the lying on the floor while recording LOL) that makes it sound so ‘old’. Although I adore Christina to no end, the ladies from back in the day had something special.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

