GEMS!

gemsThis weeks’ GEMS theme is “Underrated”, songs that have been released and was not given attention by the public, or even their own label, which is a damn shame, but as we all know, in these times, there is nothing remotely fair about the music industry. All the songs listed here at 10x better than half of the Billboard Hot 100, trust me on this.

meganPorcelain Doll – Megan McCauley
I have no idea when or why I downloaded her album, but I was shuffling and this song came up, and I immediately fell in love with it’s absolute beauty. It’s a piano-driven ballad with tender vocals. And overall quality production.

dondriaCan’t Stop – Dondria
“Y’all know what this is?” Jermaine kick-starts the song, with on-point vocals courtesy of YouTube sensation Dondria. Her voice is similar to Beyoncé on the chorus, which is never a bad thing!

sacHow Deep Is Your Love – The Bird And The Bee
Taken from the soundtrack of the Sex & The City movie soundtrack, this cover of the hit Bee Gees song triumph the original, but then again, I think Sugababes and Girls Aloud’s supposedly-atrocious “Walk This Way” triumphs the original.

fineLast Of Days – A Fine Frenzy
One of my all-time favorites, if you know what’s good for you, get this.

marionFor You I’ll Die – Marion Raven
This is a very dark song, if you hate dark songs, stay away. If you like them, get downloading.

jesNow I Know – Jessica Mauboy
This is very recent, so my judgment might be shady. It’s a good Rihanna/Lady Gaga wanna-be song.

piercesSecret – The Pierces
I first heard this on Gossip Girl, and I still love it, it’s creepily beautiful.

elisaDestructive – Elisabeth Carew
Download this at all costs, I love it, from the rollercoaster-like intro to the epic chorus, it’s would’ve been huge had it been sung by Leona, Beyoncé, or Rihanna. Take a listen.

nicoleThe Way It Is – Nicole Atkins
I featured this song so many times, and I still feel it hasn’t been heard enough, the vocals are HUGE and DEEP, she’s one of our time’s best vocalists.

12 thoughts on “GEMS!

  1. Some interesting list right here but I’m not into this type of music.. not sure there is a song I would enjoy between them, there is probably but I’m too lazy too look into it!

  2. I love ur gems post… Dondria and nicole atkins links for song both have the title for marion raven’s song I’ll die for you.

  3. I love you (if I haven’t already :P) for adding Destructive to the list. It is most definitely underrated! It’s my most-played song on iTunes and just brilliane, aswell as The Way it is, you just have to get emotional while listening to it.

  4. تعومست حدي لمن شفت الصورة رقم #3

    شفت miss horse-face
    SJP ;/

    بعدين Bee Gees
    أنا أحس أحسن إغنية عندهم كانت Staying Alive
    ولو إنه لمن صرخ بالأغنية كل درايش غرفتي انكسرت بس عادي

  5. Fahad.. I can’t download elisabeth’s destructive… the link is for marion raven’s song… can u please change it..? thx…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

